The world in the book is governed by three authoritarian superstates that are functionally similar, and are constantly at war with each other. These superstates are Oceania, Eurasia, and Eastasia. Oceania's ideology is called Ingsoc or English Socialism. Eurasia's ideology is called Neo-Bolshevism, and Eastasia's ideology is called Death Worship or Obliteration of the Self.

In the late 1940s, when the book was written, the political map was divided into three regions. Oceania included the British Empire and Commonwealth, the United States of America, and Latin America. Eastasia included China, Japan, Korea, and India. Eurasia included the Soviet Union and Continental Europe.

It is worth noting that the United Kingdom's placement in Oceania instead of Eurasia is considered a historic anomaly in the book.